News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Where does Obi to Obi traffic go?

Started by ddvzlnz, April 17, 2012, 09:12:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ddvzlnz

Obi newbie here.  These things are wonderful.

Q1. If I make a call from my obi 100 to my obi 110 over the obitalk network (just using the 9 digit code on each unit) does the voice traffic go from unit to unit or does it go from one unit to the obitalk servers and then to the other?

Q2. If the two obi end points are on the same subnet and the call is made the same way does the traffic go from end point to end point or does it go through the obitalk servers?

Q3. If the voice traffic is going through the servers is there a way to make a direct end point to end point call?

Thank you.

RonR

Obihai provides a proprietary server that handles the signaling between OBiTALK Service devices.  It accepts registrations from OBiTALK Service devices in order to know how to reach them and it also coordinates the establishment and termination of calls.  Only the audio side of the call is direct between the devices.  This occurs regardless of where the OBiTALK Service devices are located.

QBZappy

ddvzlnz,

This partially answers your qestions.

OBitalk servers are used to map the OBi units over the WWW. Once the OBi server handles the signling, which shows characteristics of a session border controller , PBX or softswitch, the actual call must be going out peer to peer, otherwise OBihai would be consuming bandwith for these calls. Simplified, the SIP port is used to make the phone ring and RTP ports are used for the conversation (call flow).

http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=3042.msg20330#msg20330

Re: Obi202 Direct IP (Peer to Peer) Dialing

Quote from: RonR on April 17, 2012, 12:58:39 PM
With no service provider configured on an OBi110/100...

I'm able to use Speed Dials (or the keypad) to make outgoing calls via SIP URI: