December 16, 2017, 09:59:40 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10
  Print  
Author Topic: Dial plan explanation  (Read 1839830 times)
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2011, 05:59:22 pm »

I'm pretty sure it's just as I thought [feared?  Smiley].

When you dial 12345678901 or 2345678, your PrimaryLine setting of SP2 causes the ITSPB DigitMap [(011xx.|*xxx.|xxx.)] to be evaluated via the (Mpli) rule in your PHONE Port DigitMap.  The only way your ITSPA DigitMap [(1xxxxxxxxxx|<1aaa>[2-9]xxxxxx)] will be evaluated is if you dial **1 + 12345678901 or **1 + 2345678, which will use the **1(Msp1) rule.  Without **1 or a PrimaryLine setting of SP1, there's no path to ITSPA's DigitMap and it's never evaluated.
Logged
murzik
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 37


« Reply #21 on: March 19, 2011, 06:12:37 pm »

If I remove DigitMap (1xxxxxxxxxx|<1aaa>[2-9]xxxxxx) from ITSPA, then I cannot make a call.

Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #22 on: March 19, 2011, 06:21:52 pm »

You mean you can't make any kind of call under any scenario?  Please be a little more detailed with symptoms.
Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #23 on: March 19, 2011, 06:33:24 pm »

With an ITSPA DigitMap of (1xxxxxxxxxx|<1aaa>[2-9]xxxxxx), did you try testing with **1 + 12345678901 and **1 + 2345678, with and without the S0's in place, with and without a trailing '#'?  My guess is the S0's and '#'s won't make any difference when **1 is used.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2011, 06:35:03 pm by RonR » Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #24 on: March 19, 2011, 06:58:00 pm »

I am simply dialing numbers without **. Because I have rule set on Phone port { (1xxxxxxxxxx|<1aaa>[2-9]xxxxxx):sp2}
I failed to comment on this.

Having a route of {(1xxxxxxxxxx|<1aaa>[2-9]xxxxxx):sp2} in the OutboundCallRoute isn't interesting when it comes to evaluating DigitMap's.  Once the DMP has evaluated all the applicable DigitMap's as previously described, then the value selected by the DMP is compared to routes in the OutboundCallRoute to determine where to send the call.

In your case, your dialed numbers of 12345678901 and 2345678 are being processed by the ITSPB DigitMap 'xxx.' rule and are remaining unchanged until they hit the OutboundCallRoute, where 1aaa is added in the case of a 7-digit number.

What you've created is rather messy.  It appears you're wanting to use the ITSPA DigitMap with SP2 which is using ITSPB.  While that may be possible with enough alterations, it's a whole lot simpler and cleaner to keep SP1 using ITSPA's DigitMap and SP2 using ITSPB's DigitMap.
Logged
murzik
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 37


« Reply #25 on: March 19, 2011, 09:11:01 pm »

RonR
Thanks!
You helped me to understand better  how Digitmap works .
Logged
Saltine
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #26 on: April 09, 2011, 01:35:29 pm »

I am very confused.  I have Google Voice set up on sp1 and a SIP provider on sp2.  Right now GV is set as my primary.  I want to be able to set GV to dial everything except 911 and toll free numbers.  I want my SIP provider to dial those.  How can I do it with without having to press **2.  Is there a way to do this?
Logged
jimates
OBi110 Beta Testers
***
Posts: 1613


« Reply #27 on: April 09, 2011, 04:24:26 pm »

As for the 911, see configuration A in my guide
http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=339.msg1766#msg1766
Logged
OZOi
Full Member
***
Posts: 89


« Reply #28 on: April 10, 2011, 02:03:51 pm »

Simple question - what does (Mipd) stay for?

It's in default DigitMap rules in both ITSP profiles.
OBi100, firmware - v.1.2.1.
Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #29 on: April 10, 2011, 02:15:26 pm »

Mipd is a User Defined DigitMap and stands for IP Dialing.  It allows entry of a SIP URI from the keypad:

18005551212@tf.callwithus.com

can be dialed as:

18005551212*204*74*220*162
Logged
Cruize
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


« Reply #30 on: May 11, 2011, 11:36:56 am »

I have GV on SP1 and my VOIP on SP2. I have set SP2 as my default line, but I want to pick SP1 for all calls to US  numbers.

I currently have the following OutboundCallRoute:
{([1-9]x?*(Mpli)):pp},{**0:aa},{***:aa2},{(<**1:>(Msp1)):sp1},{(<**2:>(Msp2)):sp2},{(<**9:>(Mpp)):pp},{(Mpli):pli}

How should I change this to accomplish what I want?
Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #31 on: May 11, 2011, 11:53:33 am »

Why did you make the changes you did to your PHONE Port OutboundCallRoute?  Normally, no changes are required to it.

With SP2 set as your PrimaryLine, you can cause US/Canada calls to go out SP1 with the following change to your ITSPB DigitMap:

(<**1>1xxxxxxxxxx|<**11>[2-9]xxxxxxxxx|011xx.|xx.|(Mipd)|[^*]@@.)
Logged
TomTN
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #32 on: May 12, 2011, 06:36:49 pm »

Hi everybody,
    I need help to create the dial plan following this (Obi 110 box):
Obi 110 firmware version: 1.2.1 (just updated tonite)
All calls local, long distance, and toll free are 10 and 11 digits only.
 
Primary line: --> PSTN
911            --> PSTN
407, 321 area code :  10 digits            --> PSTN
toll free 800,888,877,866,855: 11 digits --> PSTN
international:                                    --> PSTN ( occasionally calling)
other area codes: (long distance) 11 digits         --> Google voice (SP 1)
For long distance, I am not sure 10 digits will work or not,
but to make it consistent, I follow 11 digits like calling those toll free numbers.

Extra question:
when dial long distance, can home phone number (PSTN line)  be shown instead of Google voice number?
Thanks
TomTN.
Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #33 on: May 12, 2011, 08:11:11 pm »

TomTN,

I haven't tested this, so there could be a surprise or two somewhere:


Physical Interfaces -> LINE Port -> DigitMap:

(321xxxxxxx|407xxxxxxx|1800xxxxxxx|1888xxxxxxx|1877xxxxxxx|1866xxxxxxx|1855xxxxxxx|011xx.|
<**1>1xxxxxxxxxx|<**11>xxxxxxxxxx)

On long distance calls through Google Voice, 10- or 11-digits may be dialed.

Google Voice does not permit the CallerID to be changed.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2011, 08:14:18 pm by RonR » Logged
TomTN
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #34 on: May 13, 2011, 01:45:40 pm »

Thanks for your quick help, RonR.
As you said, there are some surprise.

911: not tested, but add "|911|" to the digital map anyway
611, 511, 411: working (add "|611|511|411|" to the digital map)
long distance: 11 digits or 10 digits : working
toll free:     11 digits or 10 digits : working

Here are some problems:
calls to 407 local area code: sometimes recieving error msg
"We are sorry your call did not go through". But, If I try to dial it again the 2nd, the 3rd, or the 4th time, the call will eventually go thru.
calls to 321 area code numbers: if 321 exchanges are local, then the call go thru.
if 321 exchanges are local toll or long distance, then need to dial them as long distance call; otherwise recieving msg "we are sorry. when placing local call, it's neccessary to dial 1 plus area code plus seven digits number to complete this call."

Are there anything we can improve?
Thanks
TomTN
Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #35 on: May 13, 2011, 03:05:45 pm »

911: not tested, but add "|911|" to the digital map anyway

No change is needed for 911.  911 is already handled at the top-most level of PHONE Port DigitMap and sent to the LINE Port automatically.  |911| should not be added to the LINE Port DigitMap.

611, 511, 411: working (add "|611|511|411|" to the digital map)

Your very explicit list didn't include these.   Smiley

toll free:     11 digits or 10 digits : working

Just for info...

11-digit toll free numbers are going to Bell South.
10-digit toll free numbers are going to Google Voice

If you want 10-digit toll free numbers to also go to Bell South, that's doable.

calls to 407 local area code: sometimes recieving error msg
"We are sorry your call did not go through". But, If I try to dial it again the 2nd, the 3rd, or the 4th time, the call will eventually go thru.

I seriously doubt this is a DigitMap problem.  This sounds like a DTMF dialing problem between the OBi and Bell South.  When this error occurs, review the Call History and verify it shows the correct number was dialed.  If the correct number was dialed, it's probably a DTMF problem.

calls to 321 area code numbers: if 321 exchanges are local, then the call go thru.
if 321 exchanges are local toll or long distance, then need to dial them as long distance call; otherwise recieving msg "we are sorry. when placing local call, it's neccessary to dial 1 plus area code plus seven digits number to complete this call."

If you have a relatively small number of 321 local exchanges, it may be possible to do something, but this could get messy real fast if the list is long.

« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 05:12:56 pm by RonR » Logged
TomTN
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #36 on: May 13, 2011, 05:43:20 pm »

911: not tested, but add "|911|" to the digital map anyway

No change is needed for 911.  911 is already handled at the top-most level of PHONE Port DigitMap and sent to the LINE Port automatically.  |911| should not be added to the LINE Port DigitMap.

Quote
ok. "|911|" removed from the digital map.

611, 511, 411: working (add "|611|511|411|" to the digital map)

Your very explicit list didn't include these.   Smiley

toll free:     11 digits or 10 digits : working

Just for info...

11-digit toll free numbers are going to Bell South.
10-digit toll free numbers are going to Google Voice

If you want 10-digit toll free numbers to also go to Bell South, that's doable.

Quote
I got this part.
calls to 407 local area code: sometimes recieving error msg
"We are sorry your call did not go through". But, If I try to dial it again the 2nd, the 3rd, or the 4th time, the call will eventually go thru.

I seriously doubt this is a DigitMap problem.  This sounds like a DTMF dialing problem between the OBi and Bell South.  When this error occurs, review the Call History and verify it shows the correct number was dialed.  If the correct number was dialed, it's probably a DTMF problem.

Quote
can you tell me how to troubleshoot DTMF if this prob. occur again?

calls to 321 area code numbers: if 321 exchanges are local, then the call go thru.
if 321 exchanges are local toll or long distance, then need to dial them as long distance call; otherwise recieving msg "we are sorry. when placing local call, it's neccessary to dial 1 plus area code plus seven digits number to complete this call."

If you have a relatively small number of 321 local exchanges, it may be possible to do something, but this could get messy real fast if the list is long.

Quote
if recieve error msg, then I dial it as long distance.

Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #37 on: May 13, 2011, 05:51:49 pm »

Here's an updated DigitMap so that all toll free calls go to Bell South:

(411|511|611|1800xxxxxxx|1888xxxxxxx|1877xxxxxxx|1866xxxxxxx|1855xxxxxxx|
<1>800xxxxxxx|<1>888xxxxxxx|<1>877xxxxxxx|<1>866xxxxxxx|<1>855xxxxxxx|011xx.|
321xxxxxxx|407xxxxxxx|<**1>1xxxxxxxxxx|<**11>xxxxxxxxxx)

Can you determine which 321 area code exchanges are local to you?  If so and the list isn't too big, we should be able to make everything work automatically.

There's supposed to be a new firmware update soon to correct some DTMF problems.  I'd wait for it before trying anything yourself.  If you get the error again, check the Call History to make sure the OBi had dialed the correct number.
Logged
TomTN
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #38 on: May 13, 2011, 07:39:51 pm »

thanks for the newly updated digital map.
I just look up area codes exchanges that local to my number in yellow pages, and here it is:
407 ->= 300 exchanges
321 ->= 120
352 ->= 16
surprise.
not ALL of 407 area codes exchanges are local to me, but only of 300 listed in the yellow pages.
Wish that somehow Obi box can automatically route local exchange to my PSTN,
and the rest to Google voice
Waiting for the DTMF fix in the new firmware.
what you think?
Logged
RonR
Forum Member

Posts: 4528


« Reply #39 on: May 13, 2011, 08:44:57 pm »

thanks for the newly updated digital map.
I just look up area codes exchanges that local to my number in yellow pages, and here it is:
407 ->= 300 exchanges
321 ->= 120
352 ->= 16
surprise.
not ALL of 407 area codes exchanges are local to me, but only of 300 listed in the yellow pages.
Wish that somehow Obi box can automatically route local exchange to my PSTN,
and the rest to Google voice
Waiting for the DTMF fix in the new firmware.
what you think?


There's no way to configure 436 special cases.  Unless there's a short list of non-local exchanges (to go the other direction), I'm out of ideas.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC