News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

help! Can't dial out or receive (OBI110 and Google voice) all of a sudden

Started by WillShoot, June 21, 2012, 08:53:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WillShoot

After many days of searching and researching, and reading this forum, I finally gave up (or give in).

I NEED YOUR HELP!

I've been using Google voice and OBItalk for about 6 months. All worked great except once or twice, I got the dreaded "No service available" but all it took was unplug the power for a few min and replug in, all started working again.

Now that has stopped working for me.

I logged in OBItalk, and saw my device is OFFLINE. I called ***1 and got the IP address but can't seem to log in. I really don't want to reset to factory if I can avoid it (not sure how actually... is there a pin?). But the thing is, when it's offline, I can't change anything (google password for example, which I changed recently but that's after OBI110 stopped working). The drop down is blank. And I can't add the device because it's already added.

Now another interesting thing: I logged on Google voice, and try to "Call" with "google talk". It displayed "connect" for a while and then just dropped, as if timed out, while the number I called never rang. BUT, if I try to call under Gmail's call phone, it worked flawlessly. By the way, I do have zero credit/balance on the account, but apparently that didn't make a difference since all I call is domestic/within US.

Any suggestions? I am PC/telecom savvy... bad enough to setup routers, bridges, access points a few times. If I can manage it, I wouldn't come in and beg for handouts...

Or maybe I am losing my grip

Thanks guys...

???

JohnBowler

Most likely the connection from the OBi110 WAN port to your local system is broken.

John Bowler <jbowler@acm.org>

pc44

Hi WillShoot,