News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Long delay when dialing out

Started by PaulOF, September 08, 2012, 09:17:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PaulOF

Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newbie to OBi so go easy. I bought an OBI110 in the US and brought it to my dad's house in Ireland. I configured 2 US GV #s on it but it is programmed to dial out using the local POTS line by default. I am running all default settings (i.e. I haven't tweaked anything in the expert config etc). I am running firmware update 2711 (i.e. almost the newest).

The only problem is, when he dials out to a regular local #, there is a long delay of about 15 seconds before he hears a ring tone (for  a second or two he hears a US style ring tone but it quickly switches to the Irish style ring tone which is ok). But this delay is quite annoying, annoying to the point that anyone else using his phone invariably hangs up and dials again. Note that he gets a dial tone right away, that's not the problem.

A search of the forum indicates that maybe the solution lies with messing with the DigitMap parameter but Ireland, like most Euro countries (I think) has a lot of variability in phone number lengths (2 and 3 digit area codes (all beginning with 0) and 6 and 7 digit phone numbers, not counting international and 1800 calls) so this might seem difficult.

Any Advice appreciated, thanks in advance,

Paul

jimates

While trying to figure out how to fix it maybe try this.

Pressing # will connect the phone port directly to the POTS line. You will hear a second dial tone, which is that of your local telco. From there everything should be as if the Obi doesn't exist.

ianobi

Paul,

Good ole jimates has given a good practical solution while you think about this wordy long term solution  :)