News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Talking Thermostat

Started by Howard687, October 30, 2012, 08:42:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Howard687

First, I am new to OBI.  I tried different searches but could not find anything that addressed my question.  I have a thermostat (could be any device) that is connected to my home phone wiring.  By dialing the home phone#, letting the phone ring 3 time, hanging up,and then dialing again, the thermostat answers on the 4th ring.  I can then remotely change temperature settings, etc.

Is there a way to enable that device (thermostat) with OBI?  Note:  It would not be easy to run a telephone line from the thermostat to the OBI. I also realize that I could convert to an internet controlled thermostat but wanted to first determine if I can use what I have.

thanks in advance

Rick

Quote from: Howard687 on October 30, 2012, 08:42:29 AM
First, I am new to OBI.  I tried different searches but could not find anything that addressed my question.  I have a thermostat (could be any device) that is connected to my home phone wiring.  By dialing the home phone#, letting the phone ring 3 time, hanging up,and then dialing again, the thermostat answers on the 4th ring.  I can then remotely change temperature settings, etc.

Is there a way to enable that device (thermostat) with OBI?  Note:  It would not be easy to run a telephone line from the thermostat to the OBI. I also realize that I could convert to an internet controlled thermostat but wanted to first determine if I can use what I have.

thanks in advance