News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

OBi 110: how to call from landline abroad?

Started by ryoanji, May 29, 2013, 04:17:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ryoanji

Hello,

I admit I am a complete noob at the moment when it comes to configuring and troubleshooting Obitalk. I am using Obi110 in Ukraine at the moment.  My landline is connected to LINE port and phone to PHONE port.  My problem is that I can't place a call using my landline.  I have to power down Obi, then it works.  I can receive landline calls on Obi just fine. 

Things I tried:
"#" - i can hear some noises for a few seconds, but no dialtone
"**8" - nothing, same Obi dialtone. 

I tried looking for a solution, but I can't find much on using Obi abroad.  Thanks!

ianobi

It looks like the OBi110 is having trouble seizing the PSTN line. I wonder if you are on a very long line, a low voltage line or other devices are connected in parallel with your OBi110 Line Port?

When no call is ongoing, what does Status > PHONE & LINE Status > Line Port Status > TipRingVoltage show? It should be around 45v.

This should be set to the minimum 10mA, which is the default:
Physical Interfaces > LINE Port > Port Settings > MinOperationalLoopCurrent

You could try a lower setting here:
Physical Interfaces > LINE Port > Port Settings > TipRingVoltageAdjust

ryoanji

Thank you so much.  That was very helpful.  The settings are indeed 45v and 10mA.  Lowering the TipRingVoltageAdjust to 3.2 or 3.1 seems to do the trick - after "#" and 5 sec silence I can get a dialtone on the outside line.  Unfortunately, this dialtone only "works" for about 5-7 sec, after that it goes into a busy signal which will not go away.  It makes no difference if you place a phone is "onhook" and then dial "#" again - it will still be busy, until for instance you adjust TipRingVoltageAdjust.