News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

How to use one google voice account on two Obi boxes.

Started by ns79, April 17, 2013, 03:29:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ns79

Hello,

I recently purchased an Obi110 and set it up with Google Voice for my business phone. Before the Obi I was using MagicJack for my business calls, currently the magic jack is plugged into the line port on the Obi 110 while I change all my business' literature over to the new phone number.

I bought an Obi 100 so I could put one in the house so I can answer business calls when not in my office, and both use the same Google Voice #

However being an absolute newb with obi devices I have no idea how to forward calls from the Obi110 to the Obi100. Is this possible? Can I forward the calls on the POTS (magicjack) line as well? Can I use the same google voice account for both box's outgoing calls so the same number shows up on my customer's caller ID?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I really need to get this setup asap! Thanks!

ianobi

ns79 - welcome to the forum.

What you are looking for is called "call forking". Any InboundCallRoute can be set to fork calls to up to 4 devices. In your OBi110 delete "ph" in the following InboundCallRoutes and replace as follows (I'm assuming that you set up Google Voice on sp1):

Voice Services > SP1 Service > X_InboundCallRoute:
{ph,pp(ob200123456)}

Physical Interfaces > LINE Port > InboundCallRoute:
{ph,pp(ob200123456)}

Where 200123456 is the number of the OBi100.
This arrangement will ring the phones attached to both OBi devices. Whichever OBi answers first will win the race and be connected to the incoming call.