News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Solutions for choppy call quality; QoS??

Started by a2dox, July 17, 2013, 03:36:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

a2dox

I've had my Obi 110 and Google Voice set up working for a number of months now, and thought it was working pretty well.  However, as we have more and more devices using up bandwidth, I'm getting a lot of complaints recently from people who call that they can't hear me and that the call is breaking up.

I read that the solution is to adjust QoS settings to give priority to voice, but then discovered that my Apple Airport Extreme doesn't have QoS.  I really love my Airport Extreme and really, really don't want to get another router and have to set up my wireless network all over again.  (While I somehow manage to get these systems set up and working on my own, I'm not a techie, and it requires a lot of research and time and aggravation on my part, so I hate to tinker when I have everything working smoothly.)

Another thing I read was that setting the Obi's ethernet port speed to 100 might help.  I just checked my settings, and the speed was set at 10, so I've now set it for 100 and am waiting to see if that will help.

Will that alone fix my problem?  Or do I need to find a way to incorporate QoS into my system?  I am not all that well-versed in how this stuff works, so I'd really like a clear, simple explanation of how to set up something that will work.