News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Hello newbie here

Started by doctor_dl, September 17, 2013, 10:00:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

doctor_dl

I recently bought an OBI202 and I'm having a problem with when people call me it takes 10 to 12 seconds for the call to connect I'm using voip.ms Canada/US and have tried both Value and Premium service with the same results. I tried calling from my cell and had the same time 10 - 12 second delay as well. I had a Linksys PAP2T for about 3 years but decided to buy the OBI202 the setup went easy but this time delay problem!!!! so if anyone has any suggestions on a fix it would be much appreciated.
Thanks

CLTGreg

I probably won't have the answer because I'm new too, but I can bet more info is going to need it such as which provider are you using.

CallCentric has limited free number for inbound testing. If you are using Google Voice then you can try CC. If you are using CC then try GV. Anveo charges on a per minute basis but since you can test to the SIP device for free then that's viable too.

Mix it up to see how it's different if at all.

Mango

To make sure I understand the symptoms correctly: is it that when someone calls you, it takes 10-12 seconds for the phone attached to your OBi to start ringing?  During that time, what does the calling party hear?

doctor_dl

Hello Mongo
Yes it takes 10-12 seconds for the phone attached to my OBi to start ringing and during that time the calling party hears nothing "it's just noiseless air" some have said it takes so long that they hang up before it starts to ring because they didn't think the call was going to connect. When I call the number there is no noise nothing but if you stay on the line for the 10-12 seconds it will start to ring like normal.