News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Let's Discuss Google Hangouts for Android

Started by CoalMinerRetired, December 20, 2013, 11:40:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CoalMinerRetired

I'm aware there are multiple threads about Hangouts on here.  I'm specifically starting this to talk Hangouts for Android. And I'm new to Android.

So let's start:
- Do I want to replace Google Voice on Android with Hangouts in an Android phone? Especially if I do not use nor want all the messaging or social network features?  I do use text, and will like to have MMS on my GV number. 

- Is Hangouts on Android eventually going to be the only application able to make GV calls a data plan as opposed to using a voice bandwidth?

- I'm still not clear if Hangouts is a direct replacement for Google Voice or not. It (link) says Replaces Google Talk, but I don't see an app named Google Talk on my android device, it's an HTC One with Android 4.3. Exactly what is being replaced here?

If the answer is discussed somewhere else on here, please post a link minus any snarky comments.

giqcass

Google talk is just the chat program on android.  Google Voice does use XMPP like Google Talk but I think the Google Voice app will remain as an independent App after Hangouts replaces Talk.  I wouldn't be shocked if the Google Voice app eventually merged but I think that's still a long way off.  The biggest reason to switch is if you want to do video calls and chat.  I'm holding on to the Google Voice app for now.  I'm sure someone will come up with a new non XMPP solution that doesn't violate TOS.  There are combinations of programs you can use such as Sipdroid and GV+Here is a link to a tutorial.  It's an old one but the concept remains the same.

Anyone else have any thoughts?
Long live our new ObiLords!

unoriginal