News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Dropped Calls

Started by garyw, March 16, 2014, 05:24:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

garyw

I've been using OBi with Google Voice for a couple of years now and I'm mostly happy with it.  However, if I'm on the phone for a while, say 20 - 30 minutes, the call is usually dropped.  The phone just goes dead.  I then have to redial and get back on the call again.  It's really annoying and makes my phone seem second rate, especially when I'm on a business call.  Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Gary

MikeHObi

If it happens again, check and see if your Obi rebooted, or if the call was actually lost.  Depending on your voip provider, there may be a max call time limit that you can configure but is set to a default value when you started the service.
Obi202 user & Obi100 using Anveo and Callcentric.

garyw

How do I check to see if it rebooted?  Do I just look at the box and know it rebooted if the light turns red or is there some other way?  Thanks!!!  Gary

drgeoff

Quote from: garyw on March 17, 2014, 08:36:39 PM
How do I check to see if it rebooted?  Do I just look at the box and know it rebooted if the light turns red or is there some other way?  Thanks!!!  Gary
Open the OBi's local web page, click on 'Status', then 'System Status'. In the 'Product Information' section you will see a line 'Uptime'.  That is how long since the unit was powered up or rebooted.  I believe the final number in brackets is the reason for the reboot.

Rick

I have experienced frequent drops in the past few months also.  I plan on totally leaving GV before the May 15th change, just figuring out where to go.  Likely going to get a free inbound and $.01 per minute outbound, but make all my outbound calls on cellular. 

garyw

What's the May 15th change that coming???  I haven't heard.  Thanks, Gary

garyw