News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

do 1800 calls use up minutes from outgoing minute limits?

Started by walenta, September 07, 2014, 05:27:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

walenta

I am new to VOIP, researching options
I work from home and use 1800 numbers all day long
I see plans from providers with limits how many minutes for outgoing calls

looking into Anveo pr Phonepower as service providers..
this is not good for me
unless 1800 calls do not count against minutes limits
any knows?

thanks
christian

bluechip

Whatever VoIP provider is chosen, Voice Gateways can be set up to make FREE toll-free calls using "localphone.com" and "tf.callwith.us".

In my opinion Localphone is the best VoIP value. It works fine for me. Their 800 minute/month USA subscription costs only $1.60. They do not add toll-free calls into the 800 minutes. Over 800 minutes, the cost is only 0.5 cents/minute.

;)

azrobert

Expanding on bluechip's post, there are several free tollfree service providers that don't require you to setup an account. tf.callwithus.com is one of these providers.  I used tf.callwithus.com for years and was very happy with their service, but recently made an 844 call that failed. tf.callwithus.com didn't think it was a tollfree number. I don't know if they can't handle all 844 numbers or that particular one. I have since switched to tf.arctele.com.

I think (not 100% sure) localphone requires you to setup an account to use their service. I'm not familiar with Anveo or Phonepower. Circle.net is another cheap service provider that doesn't charge for tollfree numbers.

Do you currently own an OBi?
Do you have an account with a service provider?

If you don't have a service provider I would setup Arctele on SP2, otherwise you would have to setup a dummy SP to use a Voice Gateway. This will leave SP1 for your main service provider.