News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Inbound call to GV/OBI: "We could not complete your call. Please try again"

Started by CarlH, March 06, 2015, 04:09:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CarlH

Obi and GV newbie here...

I went through a fairly standard setup to establish GV as a SP on an OBI100.
Status of the OBI100's SP1 at GV is "Connected"
I can make outbound calls - they come from a number in CA (I'm on the east coast).
When I try to return the call, I get the subject recording.
I've made a call from Gmail, that worked too, but did not help this problem.
My Gmail address is listed as a Google Chat address under Phones.
Is there something else I must do to get inbound calls ringing?

I clicked through "Get a voice number" at GV but I don't want a number that rings another phone.  I want to use a number that rings the OBI-100 phone.

drgeoff

Quote from: CarlH on March 06, 2015, 04:09:04 PM
My Gmail address is listed as a Google Chat address under Phones.
What number are you dialling to try to make an inbound call to your OBi?

If it is the CA number that your outgoing call seems to come from, that will not work as an inbound number to you.

If you want a number that rings your Obi you must either get a number from GV or port another number you already have to GV.

CarlH

Yes, I was trying to call the same number that my outbound call originated from.

If that's not the correct number to call, where do I find (or how do I obtain) the correct number to call?

drgeoff

Quote from: CarlH on March 06, 2015, 07:26:48 PM
Yes, I was trying to call the same number that my outbound call originated from.

If that's not the correct number to call, where do I find (or how do I obtain) the correct number to call?
See last line of my edited post above.

CarlH

OK, let's cover "get a number from GV".  Is there documentation for that process that I've missed?