News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Setting up OBI202 in House - No Cellphone Reception

Started by DanielJaxy, May 06, 2015, 02:58:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DanielJaxy

I am very new to the telecoms game. I just moved into a new place without any Verizon cellphone reception. I bought the obi202 but I am not sure how to best set it up with my wife and my cell phones.

I would ideally like my wife and my cellphone calls to be routed to my Google Voice (connected to my obi right now) when I am at home. I read online that I can do that with a SIP service?

Our current situation
Me: iPhone on Verizon
Wife: iPhone on Verizon
OBI Device: OBI202
WiFi: Yes
Google Voice: Yes, connected to my OBI202

I would really appreciate any advice on how to best setup our lines so we don't miss our cell phone calls.

azrobert

When you are at home, setup call forwarding to your GV number.
See video:
http://www.verizonwireless.com/support/how-to-set-up-call-forwarding-video/

Normally, it is setup in reverse of what you want.
Get a 2nd GV number for the wife.
Have people call your GV number.
Setup GV to ring your cell and OBi202.
Same for the wife.

DanielJaxy

Thank you for the quick response.

If I do option 2, is there any way to call from my cell phone and the recipient sees my Google Voice number?

azrobert

Only if Verizon allows CallerID spoofing and I doubt they do.

You could use the Hangouts app to make GV calls from your cell.

Edit:
Hangouts will ring with incoming GV calls, so you wouldn't need the OBi202.

SteveInWA

Quote from: azrobert on May 06, 2015, 03:17:08 PM
When you are at home, setup call forwarding to your GV number.
See video:
http://www.verizonwireless.com/support/how-to-set-up-call-forwarding-video/

Normally, it is setup in reverse of what you want.
Get a 2nd GV number for the wife.
Have people call your GV number.
Setup GV to ring your cell and OBi202.
Same for the wife.