OBiTALK Community

General Support => Day-to-Day Use => Topic started by: Donnyten on September 16, 2014, 08:11:10 PM

Title: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 16, 2014, 08:11:10 PM
Here is the deal. I plan on ditching my landline phone for use with work. I work from home doing technical support and I would like to be able to use my Google voice number as my primary landline. One of the requirements at my job is that there is no voicemail and call waiting on the line. Example, I am on a call and someone calls. They immediately get a busy signal. Is there anyway to set that up? Also I understand that there's no google voice setting to disable voicemail but is there a way to do it through the actual obihai interface?
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 11:58:03 AM
I take it this cant be done?
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 17, 2014, 01:07:59 PM
You can disable Call Waiting on your OBi.
Physical Interfaces -> Phone Port -> CallWaitingEnable: Unchecked

You can't disable GV voicemail, so the call will immediately go to VM.

You can make a custom greeting for GV VM like "The person you are trying to reach is unavailable, please call back later".
The greeting would have to be long enough, so the caller won't hear the beep at the end of the message. I think you can have silence at the end.

Or

You can get a free account at Tropo: https://www.tropo.com/

Write an App that plays a busy signal.
Forward the call to your App after 4 rings or when busy.

See: http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=8381.msg55956#msg55956

Here is a busy signal recording:
http://www.soundjay.com/phone-sounds-2.html
Busy is near the bottom of the page.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 01:39:37 PM
Thanks for the reply.

how exactly do I set it up to work with the obihai interface? I understand that I get a link when done.

Thank You.. I edited the script from the link you provided. Please let me know if this is the only script that is required.

<?php
say("http://www.soundjay.com/phone/phone-busy-1.mp3");
say("http://www.soundjay.com/phone/phone-busy-1.mp3");
rejected();
?>

I can't seem to finish the script, it says " please add extension".. I am adding  .PHP to the end and it is not accepting it
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 17, 2014, 02:45:21 PM
I had trouble using Internet Explorer on Windows 7 with Tropo. The scripts weren't getting updated. I used Chrome.

When you create an App in Tropo they will give you a SIP URI that points to the App. It will look like:
9991234567@sip.tropo.com
You can test the App by defining a speed dial like:
sp2(9991234567@sip.tropo.com)

For production:
Voice Services -> SP1 Service

CallForwardOnBusyEnable: Checked
CallForwardOnBusyNumber: sp2(9991234567@sip.tropo.com)
CallForwardOnNoAnswerEnable: Checked
CallForwardOnNoAnswerNumber: sp2(9991234567@sip.tropo.com)
CallForwardOnNoAnswerRingCount: 4

SP2 must be defined as a SIP trunk.
If SP2 is not defined setup a dummy trunk like:
Service Providers -> ITSP Profile B -> SIP -> ProxyServer: 127.0.0.1
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> AuthUserName: (any userid)
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> X_RegisterEnable: (unchecked)
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> X_ServProvProfile: B

I think you can use one Say command like this:
say("http://tindeck.com/download/dea586d67535ca6c90972f4679ccb99b/zgap/[tindeck.com]%20-%20phone-busy-1.mp3
"http://tindeck.com/download/dea586d67535ca6c90972f4679ccb99b/zgap/[tindeck.com]%20-%20phone-busy-1.mp3
");

It MIGHT have less delay between each file.

You can also upload the mp3 file to your Tropo account.
Download file to your computer
Sign in
Click My Files
Click www
Click Audio
Click Upload

Then reference it like:
http://hosting.tropo.com/12345/www/audio/filename.mp3

12345 is your account number which is displayed on top of the page to the left of LOGOUT.
It doesn't display when using IE.





Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 03:17:09 PM
Alright. I completed those steps.  for sp2 it still says " service not configured"   is this normal?

I just tried to call my number while already on a call from my girlfriends phone and it ring when it should have gotten a busy signal
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 17, 2014, 03:22:03 PM
That doesn't seem right.
Do you update your OBi via OBiTalk or the Local/Web interface?
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 03:25:49 PM
Yes I did.. Is there anyway you could perhaps take a look at my settings through teamviewer?

sorry, also i used the web interface
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 17, 2014, 04:28:30 PM
I modified one of my apps with the code in my last post and there was a syntax error. I had an extra quote between the 2 files. In the Tropo editor a red X on the left indicates an error.

After fixing the error Tropo didn't like your files and I got static.

I tried this:
<?php
say("http://www.soundjay.com/phone/phone-busy-1.mp3");
say("http://www.soundjay.com/phone/phone-busy-1.mp3");
hangup();
?>

It worked, but there was a pause between files. I got the same pause with a single Say command. I tested it with a speed dial.

When you configure the OBi with the Web interface you must turn off OBiTalk Provisioning, otherwise OBiTalk will override your changes with the defaults.

System Management => Auto Provisioning

Under OBiTalk Provisioning
Method: Disabled.

There is another way to do this in Tropo. When you transfer a call in a Tropo App you can loop an audio file. It's normally used for a RingBack tone, but you can play any audio file. I think you can make a dummy call any play the Busy. I will have to play with it and see if I can get it to work. I don't have time now.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 05:18:04 PM
I do not see " Obitalk provisioning" within auto provisioning. Any ideas?
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 17, 2014, 06:59:09 PM
I think you are using OBiTalk to configure your OBi, so you don't have to change provisioning.
In OBiTalk you don't see OBiTalk Provisioning.
Signing in using the Local/Web interface you key the IP address of the OBi into a Web Browser.

I don't think the "Not Configured" is correct. I don't configure my OBi with OBiTalk, so I can't help you.

I tried the looping of the audio file and it also has a pause.

I then uploaded the audio file to Tropo and the pause was about half as the other methods.

Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 07:27:57 PM
Alright. i will log in the other way
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 07:45:55 PM
I'm not sure what i'm doing wrong. I logged into the obihai device without using obitalk, checked all of those settings and I still get beeps when I am on the phone with someone. My job uses avaya IP software to route calls to my landline and While I am helping a customer there can not be any call waiting or voicemail whatsoever active on my line. I go in tomorrow at 2:30 PM EST so hopefully I can get this sorted out by then. I just wish Google simply implemented a disable call waiting/ voice mail feature. Would make my life a bunch easier right now.

If you can help, I have teamviewer.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 17, 2014, 08:10:26 PM
From reply#2 above
QuoteYou can disable Call Waiting on your OBi.
Physical Interfaces -> Phone Port -> CallWaitingEnable: Unchecked

With above setting you should not get the Call Waiting Tone.

I'm not familiar with Teamviewer. Plus I don't want to install any software on my computer
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 08:15:14 PM
teamviewer lets another remote access their computer. being you dont want to install anything this is the best I can do. I have attached images of my settings.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 17, 2014, 08:37:55 PM
You have CallForwardUnconditionalEnable checked and no forwarding number.
It probably isn't doing anything because your phone is still ringing.
It should be unchecked.

If you are still getting Call Waiting tone remove all the forwarding settings and just have the following:

Physical Interfaces -> Phone Port -> CallWaitingEnable: Unchecked

If you still get the Call Waiting tone I have no idea what to do.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 17, 2014, 10:41:37 PM
I'm losing my mind.

I uncheck callwaitingenable, and the system management provisioning setting that I set to disable somehow sets itself back to " periodically". If i do it in reverse order the same thing Happens.I have no idea whats going on
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 17, 2014, 11:03:49 PM
Are you sure you're changing OBiTalk Provisioning to Disabled and not ITSP Provisioning?
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 18, 2014, 12:41:31 AM
Yes.

I've the call waiting disabled but the problem is it still goes to my voicemail after 26 seconds.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 07:09:10 AM
Call forward on busy doesn't work for GoogleVoice.
See: http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=5262.msg34181#msg34181

That was almost 2 years ago. A lot of my brain cells have died since then and I forgot about this. Sorry!

I think if you get a 2nd DID and define it on your OBi. Then have GV route calls to both DIDs. Call forward on busy should work on the 2nd DID. I think IPComms still has free DIDs.

I will setup this config on my OBi/GV and report back later.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 18, 2014, 07:26:27 AM
Hey, thanks for your help.

Please report back what you find.

Thanks
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 08:11:01 AM
I thought it might work with a non Google Chat DID, but it doesn't.
Call forward on busy doesn't work for GoogleVoice on any DID.
I apologize for wasting your time.
The only thing that will work is adding a custom greeting of a busy signal to your GV voicemail.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 18, 2014, 08:29:37 AM
Ok. is it possible to change the number of rings at least to 0 on all incoming calls while on the phone?
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 08:35:23 AM
I don't know a way.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 18, 2014, 08:36:45 AM
Thanks for your help
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 11:07:32 AM
I went for a run and it cleared my mind and I thought of a way to do this, but I can't get it to work. In an inbound route you can fork the call to 2 destinations (phone port and Tropo). You can put a delay on the leg to Tropo, but when I try it ignores the delay.

Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> X_InboundCallRoute:
{ph,sp2(9990012345@sip.tropo.com;d=5)}

I changed the proxy server to: sip.tropo.com and tried this format:
{ph,sp2(9990012345;d=5)}

Both ignored the delay.

I have to go somewhere with the wife, so I can't play with it now.

From OBihai:

- All InboundCallRoute and OutboundCallRoute syntax will take a ";d=[delay-in-seconds]" parameter after the number to call from the specified trunk, and to insert a delay before the trunk makes the call. For example, SP1(18002211212;d=3) tells the OBi to call the number from SP1 after a 3-second delay.

Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 11:32:53 AM
The wife is taking her time.

Got it to work on my OBi110 with this format:
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> X_InboundCallRoute:
{ph,sp2(9990012345@sip.tropo.com;d=10)}

There was a 10 second delay before the call was forwarded to Tropo.

But now I'm not getting any audio.
I recently made a bunch of changes to my network and probably screwed up something.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 18, 2014, 02:40:53 PM
No audio?  You mean you hear nothing when you pick up the phone/ speak with someone? or no audio in reference to busy signal?

If you got it to work could you please post updated settings?  thanks
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 03:33:05 PM
When using a delay routing the call to Tropo, I don't hear the busy.
This has to be a bug in the OBi.
I circumvented the problem by delaying answering the call in the Tropo script.
With the phone on-hook or off-hook  and a 10 second delay the caller hears 2 rings, a pause then busy.

Voice Services -> SP1 Service -> X_InboundCallRoute:
{ph,sp2(9990012345@sip.tropo.com)}

Tropo Script:
<?php
wait(10000);
answer();
say("http://hosting.tropo.com/12345/www/audio/phone-busy-1.mp3
http://hosting.tropo.com/12345/www/audio/phone-busy-1.mp3");
hangup();
?>

Edit:
All the call forwarding parms were removed.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 18, 2014, 03:57:28 PM
Physical Interfaces -> Phone Port -> CallWaitingEnable: Unchecked
-------------------------------------------------------------
Voice Services -> SP1 Service

CallForwardOnBusyEnable: Checked
CallForwardOnBusyNumber: sp2(9991234567@sip.tropo.com)
CallForwardOnNoAnswerEnable: Checked
CallForwardOnNoAnswerNumber: sp2(9991234567@sip.tropo.com)
CallForwardOnNoAnswerRingCount: 4

SP2 must be defined as a SIP trunk.
If SP2 is not defined setup a dummy trunk like:
Service Providers -> ITSP Profile B -> SIP -> ProxyServer: 127.0.0.1
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> AuthUserName: (any userid)
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> X_RegisterEnable: (unchecked)
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> X_ServProvProfile: B
------------------------------------------------

System Management => Auto Provisioning

Under OBiTalk Provisioning
Method: Disabled.

----------------------------------------------------

Voice Services -> SP1 Service -> X_InboundCallRoute:
{ph,sp2(9990012345@sip.tropo.com)}

Tropo Script:
<?php
wait(10000);
answer();
say("http://hosting.tropo.com/12345/www/audio/phone-busy-1.mp3
http://hosting.tropo.com/12345/www/audio/phone-busy-1.mp3");
hangup();
?>

------------------

What I have highlighted in bold, do I still need to make sure those settings are as you typed them? or do they no longer apply?
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 04:39:16 PM
They are needed to route the call to Tropo via SP2.

Just remove all the call forwarding settings.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 18, 2014, 04:47:50 PM
Ok, so all the call forward settings for SP1 right?

Also i've noticed that for settings, there's also a check box under default, if I uncheck that, the check moves all the way to the left inside another check box.  as long as there's a check in any of the boxes in a given field, does that mean its enabled?
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 05:18:23 PM
Are you using OBiTalk to config your OBi?
I thought we disabled OBiTalk provisioning.

It doesn't matter which method you use, but you can only use one.

Maybe you should use OBitalk because the new firmware requires it to change GV settings.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 18, 2014, 05:23:44 PM
Well I was just speaking in general.  I noticed there are two check boxes for most fields, unchecking the setting for 'default' shifts the check over to the far left...   was just wondering.  but i'll report back in a few hrs as to whether or not that scheme works for me
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: SteveInWA on September 18, 2014, 07:55:14 PM
Wow, this is two pages of trying to use a hammer to drive in a screw.  You might eventually succeed, but all parties involved will be sore at the end.

Let me suggest an alternative.  Don't use Google Voice at all for your work solution.

I think the original discussion went off the rails because it didn't address your actual job requirement.

As I understand it, you have one of those work-at-home jobs, wherein you are required to get a conventional inbound telephone line, with no call forwarding or voicemail or three-way calling at all.  The employing company then forwards inbound calls to your personal phone number, one at a time, and you do your thing with that customer, until you are done. On your company's side, they use ACD (automated call distribution) software to manage your call queue for you.  When your phone is no longer busy, it sends you your next chunk of work (your next caller).

Right?

If so, do this:  get a free New York inbound phone number (DID) from Callcentric.  Do not set up any calling features at all on that number.  It's just going to be a plain phone number that rings your OBi-attached phone.  When nobody answers, it keeps ringing, and when it's busy, it generates the correct busy signal.  Your company's ACD needs a carrier-supplied busy signal; fake, recorded hocus-pocus won't work, because your work's switch knows that your carrier answered the call.  They need to get the busy signal instead of an answered call, not something that sounds like a busy signal.

Factory reset your OBi box to remove that spaghetti-pile of settings you may have added.  Use the OBiTALK portal to delete and then re-add your OBi device.  Then, use the portal page's bottom-most link to configure service with other providers, and then select Callcentric.  Give the portal your Callcentric free DID account number (the  CC 1777nnnnnnn account number, NOT the DID telephone number) and the SIP password you set up on the CC web site. Call the CC telephone number from some other phone number, to test that it rings or goes busy as I descibed. Once you get it working, give the CC DID telephone number (the New York number, not the 1777 number) to your employer.  That's it.

Optionally:

IF you would also like to use Google Voice, you can configure one of your OBi's other service provider slots with GV, using the portal.  Just do NOT use that number for work calls.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: azrobert on September 18, 2014, 09:35:01 PM
Quote from: SteveInWA on September 18, 2014, 07:55:14 PM
remove that spaghetti-pile of settings you may have added.

I disagree with your characterization of what I did. I must admit it took me 2 1/2 approaches to get this to work, but the final solution is 1 line of code in the OBi and a 4 line Tropo script. There is an additional 4 changes in the OBi to setup a dummy trunk only needed because the OP doesn't have a SIP trunk defined.

This is what you call "spaghetti-pile of settings":
Voice Services -> SP1 Service -> X_InboundCallRoute:
{ph,sp2(9990012345@sip.tropo.com)}

This solution worked for me. The true test is if the OP can get it to work.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 19, 2014, 07:54:57 AM
I thank the both of you for the help I have received so far.

I tried the call centric method and I'm able to call myself, but when I tried to call that same line from another phone all the phone does is ring. Can I set it up so that incoming calls go straight to a busy signal?

I've lost about 4 hours of sleep trying to get a dang busy signal to the point when I now have a headache and have to go back to work in an hour or two
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: SteveInWA on September 19, 2014, 11:31:46 AM
Hi Donny:

I sent you a private message with the additional setting you probably need to change on the Callcentric portal page to send calls to the busy signal, and some related information.  It's been so long since I set up a clean/new CC DID, that I can't recall all their default settings.
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: Donnyten on September 19, 2014, 05:27:51 PM
Thanks for the correspondence.

It works now, the issue was that google doesnt support " early media" which would explain why I always heard rangs when I dialed the CC number. But i tried again with another it it works without a problem. :-)

Thanks so much guys :)
Title: Re: Send incoming calls straight to a busy signal? Disable voicemail on 110
Post by: SteveInWA on September 19, 2014, 08:22:37 PM
Quote from: Donnyten on September 19, 2014, 05:27:51 PM
Thanks for the correspondence.

It works now, the issue was that google doesnt support " early media" which would explain why I always heard rangs when I dialed the CC number. But i tried again with another it it works without a problem. :-)

Thanks so much guys :)

Yay!  Glad you got it to work.  Enjoy the cost savings.