News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Obi100 stopped working

Started by hnrwl, August 05, 2015, 01:53:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hnrwl

I have been using GV with an Obi100 for a couple years. I was away for a week and when I returned my phone service suddenly doesn't work, although my Internet is fine. It reads "Check tel line" on the phone. What I have tried so far:

Turned the router on and off.
Logged into my GV account online to make sure it worked.
Unplugged everything from the Obi100 and plugged it back in. The light on the far left is solid green.
Based on some other posts here, I checked the firmware and it was 1.3.0, Build 2824. I manually upgraded it to 2872. I then noticed that it said Google Voice not connected so I set that up again; I had to be directed to the google voice page and entered my info (which I have not had to do in the past). It now says "Connected" but the phone still doesn't work.

I did set up the google hangouts dialer on my android last week so I could make outgoing calls from my GV account on my phone. I don't know if this is related.

What else can I try to get the Obi100 phone service working again?

hnrwl

Just tried the instructions from azrobert here: https://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=10028.0 regarding adding the GV password in the Expert configuration setting, but still doesn't work.

SteveInWA

I suggest performing a factory reset on the OBi, deleting it from the OBiTALK portal, and setting it up again, since it was significantly down-level.  The Phone port on the OBi should be working, even after a factory reset, and before configuring Google Voice (or any other service provider).

If your telephone still says "check tel line", then you have one of these issues, unrelated to Google Voice:

• Your telephone's circuitry went bad.  Try another telephone.