News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Sudden Issue - Intermittent Tone

Started by ravennevar, November 12, 2016, 09:18:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ravennevar

I have been using my Obi200 for almost 2 years now without issues. This morning I stopped receiving calls. When I checked for tone, it is intermittent. I can place a call and connect (even with this intermittent tone), but when people call me, it does not ring. Any help is appreciated.

Thank you!

SteveInWA

What do you mean, exactly, by "intermittent tone"?  Are you hearing a stuttered dial tone when you pick up the handset to make a call, like beep-beep-beep-beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?

If so, then you have inadvertently forwarded your inbound calls to some other destination (phone number or SIP).

You didn't say which service provider you are using, so I can't tell you exactly how to disable it, but I saw that you did some configuration changes per a previous discussion with azrobert, so you have likely made a mistake somewhere.

You can try entering *73 on the phone, to see if that makes it stop.

ravennevar

@SteveInWA

Thank you for your reply! I have attached an m4a recording of what I am hearing when I press talk on my handset. Again, I can place calls even with this issue, but when people call it rings on their end until they get my voicemail. It does not ring at my house. Sorry I forgot to mention, but I use Google Voice. Also, I still have not implemented the recommendations offered by azrobert because I moved the fax from its current location temporarily. So everything has been the same since I started using the Obi200. I tried the *73 but it is still the same. If something was changed in the configuration, then it most likely was inadvertently done by my 2-year-old playing with the handset.

Thanks again!

SteveInWA