News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Requesting help - Incoming CNAM, Google Voice, Obi as primary landline...

Started by TheoGeek, January 16, 2012, 01:04:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheoGeek

So, after scouring these forums, I'm still a bit confused.  I am totally new to this kind of thing, and I've seen references to how other people have set this up, but I'm not sure if it will work in my situation.  I'd like to get Caller ID Name to display on my phones, but I know that Google Voice does not support this.  Here is my setup:

1.  I ported my landline to Google Voice via the "GoPhone Method"
2.  I have the Obi configured to use GV as my primary service
3.  I have a Callcentric account set up for 911 only (and have the Obi device set to use that for 911 calls)
4.  I have the Obi connected to my home phone system, so calls to my landline number ring via the Obi.

I have seen references to using IPKall, Sipsorcery, etc. but I don't really know what I'm doing.  :)

I'm looking for an inexpensive way to get CNAM to display on my phones.  If there is some kind of tutorial or something out there, that would be awesome, or if one of you guys has done that already, a little guidance would be helpful.

Thanks!
Jeff.

RonR

Since you've already ported your phone number to Google Voice and assuming you don't want to port it to another service provider that supports CNAM, your options are limited.  The only solution I see is to get an incoming DID from someone like Callcentric who supports CNAM and have your Google Voice number forwarded there.  That DID would be forwarded to your OBi where you'd receive the call along with CNAM.

Rick

Quote from: TheoGeek on January 16, 2012, 01:04:45 PM