News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

OBi110 & Mediatrix 2102 & GV ... HELP !!!!!

Started by jtplayte, December 05, 2012, 11:21:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jtplayte

First of all I am a complete newbie with Voip (but technically knowledgeable with computers/networking etc.)

I want to get rid of Bell Canada (phone company)

Right now I have my Obi110 and my regular home phone line working flawlessly (with Bell).

I want to signup with www.iristel.ca as they are the only company I found that is able to port my local phone number to a voip solution. (want to keep my local number and have people call me without long distance charges).

From what I gather, I can have GV on one line, and Iristel on the other. Fine. BUT, they charge me a one time fee of $40 to use my own equipment with no guarantee of service or technical support and a monthly cost of $19.95. If I rent their device (Mediatrix 2102) for $4/month, no one time fee, and only $15.95 a month.

Obviously they want you to use their own equipment. So, can I use the Mediatrix 2102 (local calling with my ported phone number) and the Obi110 (GV) on the same network and using my regular home phones !?!?

If so, is this difficult to setup?

Any help/direction would be appreciated. I have not confirmed with Iristel which route I will take and would like to as soon as possible.

Thanks In Advance,

Jason

QBZappy

Quote from: jtplayte on December 05, 2012, 11:21:44 AM
From what I gather, I can have GV on one line, and Iristel on the other. Fine. BUT, they charge me a one time fee of $40 to use my own equipment with no guarantee of service or technical support and a monthly cost of $19.95. If I rent their device (Mediatrix 2102) for $4/month, no one time fee, and only $15.95 a month.