News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

how many people reply solely on Google Voice and Obi devices?

Started by TimSpencer, December 16, 2012, 01:48:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TimSpencer

how many people reply solely on Google Voice and Obi devices?

I'm new, but I'm loving it so far.  Friends/family actually commented
on how much clearer my voice sounded, compared to the old landline
and Vonage service that I had.   

I have already ditched Vonage, since it's pointless to keep paying
$11.99(plus tax) per month.   Is it too insane if I ditch landline as
well to save another $8.99(plus tax) per month? :)

lhm.

A lot, I ditched my landline over 5 years ago when GV was Grand Central. Used a PAP2 then added an Obi. I have saved almost $2000 over that period.   :)

Hortoristic

I'm relatively new to OBI - only about 18 months - but I actually started by porting my vonage number to GV.   You have to first port it to a throwaway cell, then to GV, as GV only allows port in's from cell's.  Rare cases it don't work - but mine ported fine - so I have a Vonage number that rings on my OBI!

MikeHObi

Of course we have cell phones, but for home number it's google voice and an obi.  Switched a few months ago, but also use callcentric for E911 and their NY free inbound DID and Anveo for a call centric backup.  google voice for all outbound.
Obi202 user & Obi100 using Anveo and Callcentric.

HHinFlorida

You can get a backup SIP provider with a free DID for incoming calls and pay per call for outgoing. Thus it costs you next to nothing if you don't use it much (one quick call each direction a month just to keep the account active). But you have a hot spare in case google pulls the plug or is subjected to a successful denial of service attack.

Lavarock7

My Rant: