News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Obi to Obi call quality question...

Started by Robert.Thompson, January 10, 2013, 07:34:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Robert.Thompson

Hello:

I have never used the Obi to Obi call feature but I am considering setting up another Obi at a friend's house.

Is the call quality very good (POTS like) or just so so?

Thanks.
Rob. (Obi newbie.)

OBi 110 using Anveo - but presently testing AcroVoice
My blog: www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com

ProfTech

I have limited experience with Obi to Obi calls but I think it will depend on two things;

1. The quality of your friends internet connection
2. The quality / type of home network they have.

My Son-in-law has an Obi in the Chicago area running ATT U-Verse DSL and his Mom has an Obi in India. I have one in Illinois on standard ATT DSL.

If I call him on his Obi number, it sounds fine. When he calls the Obi located in India or she calls him, he complains about dropped calls, call quality, etc. This also happens when they call each other using CallCentric's network.

So I am pretty sure their internet connection and / or their home network in India is the culprit and there isn't much we can do to improve the situation.

lk96

As was noted before, you do need a good quality line. Not so much a fast line
(I think that even something like 300Kbps, in both directions, effective capacity would be fine).
But the line has to be "clean" so that you don't experience excessive packet loss.

I have setup a remote Obi in Europe (Greece) and another one in the US.
The voice quality is consistently very good.

In terms of calls to India, I have noticed (as the previous responder mentioned) issues.
Part of the problem is that some standard DSL services are providing 256Kbps uplink.
But even more problematic was that some times there were packet losses. So, the quality would