News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

SIP to Talkshoe

Started by mikefoley, March 25, 2013, 02:00:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikefoley

Hi,

I have an OBI202. Set up Google Voice and that works great. I'm kinda new to setting up SIP and was wondering if I could get an assist. I participate in a couple of podcasts that are hosted by Talkshoe.com. They have a SIP server that allows VOIP access from softphone clients by dialing SIP:talkshoe@66.212.134.192.

Many different instructions at the following:
http://sky.geocities.jp/new_japan_first/page003.html

http://worldmikel.xanga.com/674228241/worldmikel-with-talkshoe-gizmo5-and-sip/

How would I set that up on my Obi? After setup, would I dial **2 (provided it was set up as #2) and it would just connect?

Any help is much appreciated.
mike

QBZappy

Quote from: mikefoley on March 25, 2013, 02:00:06 PM
access from softphone clients by dialing SIP:talkshoe@66.212.134.192

Welcome,

The simplest thing to do is put 'talkshoe@66.212.134.192 ' in a speed dial. To call dial 'speeddial_number'+'#'
Owner of the 1st OBi110/100 units in service in Canada & South America. 1st OBi202 on my street. 1st OBi1032 in Montreal.

giqcass

I use the technique QBZappy recommends.  It works very well but I like to specify the service provider in the speed dial as well.  If you specify the service provider you can just dial the speed dial number and wait for the timeout or press the # key. I listen to podcasts this way and connect to conferences.

Replace the x with whatever service provider you want to use.  The service provider you use to make the call must be set up for sip.  You can also use a fake sip account if you haven't configured a sip account.

spx(talkshoe@66.212.134.192)

The second post in this thread talks about setting up a fake sip account.
http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=4977.0

Long live our new ObiLords!

mikefoley