November 27, 2021, 12:25:23 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Unwanted incoming calls from 100, 1000, and now 1001  (Read 20358 times)
raczyk
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« on: May 09, 2013, 04:47:50 pm »

Hi Folks,

We have a Obi 110, and on occasion we keep on receiving calls from either 100, 1000, and 1001. A reset of the Obi sometimes fixes it, and sometimes not. Is this a problem with the Obi? Can these numbers be blocked? They are displayed on the phones called ID.

When I log into my VoIP providers management portal, the calls are not seen. Leads me to believe the issue is with the Obi.

Regards,
Rev
Logged
Shale
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1061


« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2013, 05:07:41 pm »

SIP Scanners. See http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=5467.0
Logged
raczyk
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2013, 06:10:52 am »

Thanks Shale, I'll take a look in that thread. What is the purpose of a SIP scanner? As fat as security goes does it matter that my obi on on the DMZ?

Cheers,
Logged
Shale
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1061


« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2013, 06:42:57 am »

What is the purpose of a SIP scanner?
from note d in the other thread: The motivation for the SIP scanners appears to mostly be probing for PBX servers to allow expensive international and premium calls for profit. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premium-rate_telephone_number
Quote
As fat as security goes does it matter that my obi on on the DMZ?

Not being in the DMZ would not have prevented this unless your router is what is called a "full cone". Most aren't.
Logged
raczyk
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2013, 07:06:31 am »

Thanks Shale.

This is what I've done, may also be useful for other who stumble on the same problem.

Changed X_InboundCallRoute to:
{(x|xx|xxx|xxxx|xxxxx|xxxxxx):},{ph}
Effectively blocking all numbers which are x or xx or xxx ... characters long.

Changed X_UserAgentPort to something other than 5060
Appears the SIP scanners try to hit the 5060 port as it's the default.

Hope this fixes my issue moving forward.

Cheers,
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC

Advertisement
Advertisement