News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Obihai 202 voice quality issues

Started by kevmeist, June 14, 2013, 06:19:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kevmeist

I have been using the 202 for about 8 months and generally like it. However, when talking to my wife in FL (I'm in WV at the moment), we both hear a lot of voice quality issues. These are:

1.  When she speaks, the volume start out low, so I miss the first few words then the volume kicks up.
2. It's almost as if I hear the line "turn around", so we trample on each others voices.
3. Sometimes, everything disappears for 5-6 seconds.

My connection in WV is Time Warner with an Arris modem and a Linksys WRT610N Gb router.
The FL equipment is Brighthouse cable with a separate modem and phone interface unit along with a WD MyNet900 Gb router. Brighthouse are due out at the house tomorrow (Saturday) to look at that end again to see if they see problems down there.

If I talk locally to people in WV...I have a small amount of "issues" like above but nowhere near as intrusive.

Are there any configurable parameters on the 202 that could help voice quality issues?

Thanks,

Kevin

CoalMinerRetired

There are a few different settings that could affect voice quality.  But first some run some of the tests linked below to see if they point to anything in particular:

http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=5803.msg37497#msg37497

Note a few points:
- You want to run the tests several times. On both ends of your situation, WV and FL.
- You want to run the tests connected to your router the same way as your Obis are connected, e.g., running the tests across a wireless connection when your Obis are wired using a 10 Mb half duplex connection will not be meaningful.  Easy way to tell 10/100 Full va. Half is the port light(s) on a switch or a router.