News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Need 3 lines (w/ 3GV accts) and want to use OBi202 this way - will it work?

Started by N.V., June 19, 2013, 08:52:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

N.V.

Hi, rank newbie here, trying to scale the learning curve as quickly as possible.

My family (wife + 5 kids) is about to move, and I want to use the occasion to change how we deal with telephones at home.

Current set up is a panasonic 2-line base unit with wireless 2-line handsets (DECT 6.0). I'd like to shift entirely to VoIP using the OBi202 and 3 Google Voice accounts, but would love some confirmation from more experienced members that the configuration I'd like to use will work.

GV1 - my line
GV2 - wife's line
GV3 - kids' line

panasonic base unit and handsets:
L1 - receives incoming call from GV1 and uses GV1 to place outgoing calls
L2 - receives incoming call from GV2 and uses GV2 to place outgoing calls

then I would buy a separate single-line phone for the kids:
L3 - receives incoming call from GV3 and uses GV3 to place outgoing calls

That way, I can have 3 distinct rings and, presumably, all three lines in use at once. In fact, might it not be possible to have 2 calls happening simultaneously on L3, which would allow 4 separate calls to take place at once?

I'm certainly open to other suggestions but this is my first stab. Just want to make sure I'm headed in the right direction.

Many thanks in advance!

Shale

Buy an OBi100 for the kid's line. On the OBi202, put the dual line phone on the OBi202 plugged into the Phone 1 slot, which has both phone lines. Plug nothing into the Phone 2 line.

What are you going to do about 911?

N.V.

Still learning about 911. Anveo seems to be the way to go, no?