News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Getting Auto Attendant Set Up

Started by indiesalesrep1, February 11, 2014, 09:18:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

indiesalesrep1

Hi everybody,

I've been able to create an AA message over the phone and I am able to see that it is confirmed by going to the Configuration Page (via the IP address).

I am still a newbie, however, and need to know how to get this uploaded so that every time someone calls in, it plays the message, with the option to hold to reach a person, or Press 2 to discontinue the call. Can anyone help me, I know this is probably elementary. I am at Voice Services --> Auto Attendant, and see my message in User1Length (48564 ms), but cannot get any further. Thanks...

drgeoff

Open the Device Admin Guide at http://obihai.com/OBiDeviceAdminGuide

Search on that page for "AA does not play individual user prompts directly. Instead it plays a comma separated list of prompt elements"  (without the quote marks.)  That section describes what to do.  For example to replace the Welcome prompt with your complete User1 message, enter

%user1%

in the Value box for Welcome under Auto Attendant 1 Prompts at the bootom of the page where you see your User1 Length.

indiesalesrep1

Thanks so far.

So I put %User1% in the Welcome section because I wanted the entire message played - I want this message to be played when someone dials the number, is this the right place to put it? Because I tested it out by calling it and all I got was five rings and a female voice saying that the person was not available.

Bonus question - once we figure this out, is there a way for the AA to be played right after the first ring, as opposed to waiting five rings for the AA to be played?

drgeoff