News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Incoming calls GV

Started by James, March 18, 2014, 03:55:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

James

Newbie here.

With the impending May 15 GV end of support for XMPP, I am scrambling for a decent home phone solution. I purchased a Callcentric 500 for outgoing calls, and this is working fine. What I do not fully understand has to do with Incoming calls after *May 15*

(1) Will I be able to receive calls on my GV number? - I am getting conflicting answers.
(2) If I can receive calls on my GV number, is there any merit to porting my GV number to Callcentric? But if not, I believe I need to port and get an incoming service with Callcentric.

Thanks in advance.

gderf

When Google shuts down XMPP on May 15th your OBi SP slot that is configured for Google voice will cease working entirely in both directions. Period. Just delete it when it stops working.

If you want incoming calls to your GV number to be forwarded to your OBi once XMPP is shut off, you will have forward them from Google Voice to another phone number that your OBi is capable of receiving calls on. You have the following simple choices to accomplish this.

You have Callcentric 500 outgoing calling plan. This requires that you configure your OBi to register with Callcentric. You have done this already.

Here are a few choices to continue receiving incoming GV calls on your OBi:

1) Get a free IPKall DID and configure it to your Callcentric SIP URI in the form of 1777xxxxxxx@in.callcentric.com Note that CallerID is broken with this setup.

or

2) Get a free Callcentric NYC area DID and forward your GV calls to it.
Help me OBiHai PhoneOBi. You're my only hope.

James

Thanks for a great reply.

Quote from: gderf on March 18, 2014, 04:22:01 PM
Get a free Callcentric NYC area DID and forward your GV calls to it.