News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Options for Google Voice and ObiTalk and/or ObiON?

Started by Sparkles, July 03, 2012, 01:33:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sparkles

Hi, I've been using Obihai for many months now, have a device (Obi110) coupled to my GoogleVoice account(s) and enjoy it.  I live rural-ish (no cell towers), and love having my GV coupled to my cell number and the Obihai device.  It's been working well.

So, I've been perusing the forums, and wondering if others are in the same boat as me...
I'm looking to use ObiTalk/ObiHai with both my desktop PC and my phone coupled to the Obi110.

So, presently, when I attempt to use GoogleVoice via gmail/gv on the PC, and dial out, it dials my Obi110 box (because that's what's coupled to my GV account).  So, I'd have to 'answer' my handset phone to dial out.
And, when someone calls in to my GV number, it only forwards to the Obi110 device.  But, not to the desktop.  Prior to installing the Obi110, I believe I could receive GV calls coming in, on my desktop/PC when logged into gmail/GV.

So I'm looking for feedback from anyone who might no about some options out there.
1) Is there a way to configure GV and/or the Obi110 so that when someone dials my GV number, it forwards and rings on BOTH my PC gmail interface AND the Obi110?
2) It looks like if I installed/configured ObiON (the PC desktop software), then I could get this working as described in '1)' above, correct?
3) Other options to engage what I'm envisioning? Maybe some info related to how GoogleChat, GoogleVoice, and GoogleTalk might not interact and play nicely?

Thanks for any feedback.

QBZappy

Sparkles,

Funny that this seems to be the topic of the day.

Have a look here:
Re: Are Obi devices limited to the number of endpoints?
http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=3550.msg23594#msg23594