News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Adding Long Distance Provider - HOW?!

Started by kwan, July 12, 2012, 09:47:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kwan

First, I'm new to this.  Have a SIP account and VOIP is working :)

Problem is that I have a lot of long distance to Serbia.  I have a long distance provider where I dial their local number, they recognize the number I'm calling from as a registered number, and then the recorded message asks me to enter the number I wish to call.

I'd like the phone hooked to my OBI110 to automatically route the call to this number if it starts with "011".

How do I accomplish this??  Turning out harder than I expected, and there is probably an easy solution.

Thank you in advance!!!

Stewart

The OBi cannot send out DTMF automatically, except on the Line port of an OBi110.

The attached phone may have speed dial buttons or a contact list that could do this.  You could also automate two-stage dialing with e.g. a free PBXes account.

However, you can likely find an equal or better value from a SIP provider.  Are you calling landlines (if so, which city)? or mobiles (if so, which carrier)?  What rate are you paying now?

Some SIP providers with low rates to Serbia include CallWithUs, CheapVoIPInc and Localphone; all can function as calling cards as well.  Even less expensive, though SIP only, is Voxbeam (another Localphone brand).  Localphone offers a 5-minute free trial at signup, Voxbeam has a $1 free trial.

kwan

Thank you for the response. 

I noticed the OBI110 had speed dial and "Gateway and Trunk" groups that I thought could be used.  Phone has speed dial though and that might be simplest, you are right.

With respect to sip provider I tried, and couldn't really beat the rates I was getting from Startec (and ensure good quality).  I'm calling generally landlines in Serbia (ie. Belgrade rates).  They were only $.079 per minute plus $2.99 a month.