News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Hi everyone, New to the forum and I have a question

Started by androidfonefan, September 22, 2013, 06:53:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

androidfonefan

I have used search and looked over the forum repeatedly for this and have not found the question posted so I will ask here.

I am new to Obi but not voip. I have been using voip apps on my android phone for well over a year now. And am fairly familiar with what goes on on the GV end of this symbiotic relationship. Have had Ooma for several months and in the last month bought a Obi 200. I works flawlessly and I love the little device but understanding that nothing lasts forever, I wondered about what if my Obi 200 breaks down and I have to get another?
What are the steps for transferring your GV number from one box to the other?
Is it as simple as unregistering the old Obi box from your Obi acct and then setting the new box up under your GV number? or is there another procedure that needs to be done through the Obihai sight?

dircom

you can set up the same GV number on two different Obi's

Shale

If two are registered , if I remember previous posts correctly, the last to sign in will receive the calls.

CoalMinerRetired

Quote from: Shale on September 22, 2013, 09:13:30 AM
If two are registered , if I remember previous posts correctly, the last to sign in will receive the calls.
For an Obi202 this is not correct, GV Multi Ring was a new feature is a past firmware release, and I can confirm it works as described.  Look here for Google Voice Multi-Ring.

That same page now lists multi ring as part of all Obi1, Obi2 and Obi3 series, meaning it is supposed to work on all models.  The feature is controlled by two new fields, X_GTalkSimultaneousRing (enabled by default) and X_XMPPPriority (set to zero by default, which means auto adjust).

Shale