News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Obi202 expectations from a newbie

Started by tns1, February 28, 2015, 02:36:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tns1

I am new to the voip/ata concept, so I thought I would ask a few questions. I am considering getting an Obi202 to replace 2 infrequently used landlines (separate numbers/different users). The logical placement for the Obi202 is out in the garage where the two phone lines originate. I would just unplug those lines from the Cox NIU and plug them into the Obi, with a 50ft run of Cat5 to reach my router. The only time I ever expect to need to look at the Obi box is during setup or for (hopefully rare) problem solving.

Is this a reasonable expectation?

I did consider the Ooma Telo, but it does not have two RJ11's (requires a separate linx box), and it sounds like both parties need access to the telo to see the VM indicator (if I actually wanted to use VM). 

I have 2 existing cordless answering machines ATT CL82351, that work well, so I won't be using any forwarding, multi-ring, or VM features that may be available to me, at least not initially. In fact it is important I be able to completely disable any VM feature initially, and not just by having my machine pick up sooner than the VM. If my equip does not answer the call, it should go unanswered. I really just want reliable duplication of the basic landline functionality I have now without any need for web access, once it is all setup.

Is what I describe a reasonable expectation? I ask this because a lot of the posts suggest that the whole voip/ata thing becomes an ongoing hobby for some instead of a tool that just works.

dircom

It is pretty simple to set up an Obi
Can't you put the Obi next to the router, and run a phone wire near the Obi?

be sure and disconnect your phone wire(s) from the outside network interface

tns1